Skip to content

LONDON LOVE…

February 8, 2011

Although London may not be the first destination that comes to mind for Valentines week…

Couple Au Bord De Mer, the perfect Valentine!

Marc Chagall (1887-1985), A GREAT MODERNIST PAINTER…

“When Matisse dies”, Pablo Picasso remarked in the 1950s, “Chagall will be the only painter left who understands what colour really is.”

For art lovers…Christies Auctions this week cannot be missed… Impressionist and Modern Auctions February 9th, 10th and 11th

Deux bouquets de fleurs -Louis Valtat

Louis Valtat (1869-1952), is considered as one of the leaders and founders of the Fauvist movement (meaning “the wild beasts” for their wild, expressionist-like use of color), which did not formally begin until 1905 at the Salon d’Automne. Valtat was involved with the most influential groups of artists, such as Auguste Renoir, Paul Signac, Georges d’Espagnat and Maximilien Luce.

Nature morte aux fleurs, coquillages et éventail - Léon de Smet

Léon de Smet (1881-1966) , an under-appreciated Belgian painter who is reaching new acclaim in the art world…finally. Love his floral paintings…a recent auction at Christies …

Leon de Smet - Vase de fleurs, sold 2008 $22,245

Although Belgium is known for their fabulous chocolate…while in London a visit to…

Hotel Chocolat

Valentine’s Day and chocolates – a match made in heaven.

While I would love to be vacationing… either in London or actually at Hotel Chocolat in St. Lucia …

St. Lucia in February...romantic!

The closest I will get this year…

Prosecco and chocolate in front of the fire in Francestown!

 
What are you doing with your loved ones to celebrate…THE DAY OF LOVE?
 
P.S.
A bit of London for my blog readers…

London Map Collage

For my blog friends … a special price on the London Map Collage…$175.00  (reg. $230.00)…
Contact: laurielepine@zincstudiodesign.com for this special offer…Fabulous February!!!!
2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2011 1:47 pm

    Hey I have that catalog for Christie’s, not sure why since I can’t afford anything in that auction lineup! I know I’m getting Burdick’s chocolates for Valentine’s since Mister man is taking me to Burdick’s for dinner. He bought me something but I have no idea what it is and it’s driving me nuts since he said if I shake the box I’ll break it…..I hate when he does that! I guess if we can’t have warmth at least the snow just stopped.

  2. February 9, 2011 6:46 pm

    Thanks for the art gallery tour. Beautiful floral paintings.
    I would love some perfume. Not holding my breath though. 🙂
    Mary Ann

Leave a Reply

