Skip to content

Addiction…need rehab! A dilemma…

January 18, 2011

I desperately need help….
Every morning, with coffee in hand (ok, yes, and sometimes an orange roll in the other)…
I bury my head into blogs….one right after the other…searching for the rush I can’t get from the caffeine and the sugar.  I find, I have at least twelve windows open at once in a matter of minutes…

Who knew that there are so many amazingly talented and creative people on this planet…let alone finding them all connected in this world called ‘Blogland’.

I remember when I first discovered blogs…

A few years ago, I was searching for etchings, black and white images for a project…THE GRAPHICS FAIRY…”thunk” as my head hit my desk top…OMG..look at all these images..

*The Graphics Fairy*

After searching through all of Karen’s amazing images and tutorials…”You mean there are more sites like this?”. I was off…I start clicking on her links…THE FRENCH GARDENHOUSE…



Now can I tell you…It was now 8:30 am and I needed to get to work!  I bookmarked, ran to get ready, and got off to work, where I looked forward to getting back to my home office to continue my travels through ‘Blogland’.

I was HOOKED. And I thought blogging was for ‘kids’…you know…like My Space. OK, my age is showing…I was not computer illiterate…I just used them for work, research or a little shopping.  Obviously, I am not a communications major.  E-mails were for work…I still prefer the phone to communicate.  I still text rarely…I can call faster! 

I found Trouvais…

Trish…you have beautiful stories…love your home…admire your taste but I don’t know much about you…you tell your story through these beautiful images and have commented words of encouragement on my blog…THANK YOU!

 …found Velvet and Linen…

Brooke…Very talented, how do you do it?  We see you juggling business and family with finesse! 

…found Surroundings…

Linda…Thank you for giving us local gals a boost…you are amazing at juggling all the creative endeavors you accomplish! In the words of John Quincy Adams… “If your actions inspire others to dream more, learn more,do more and become more , you are leader.”  Thank you for your support and encouragement!

…found Katiedid

Katie…her energy shows through her blog as well as her website…she is truly vibrant…and has a good, kind soul…all this shines through her designs.  Everytime I see a Dove Wrapper, I swear I see her photo on the inside!

 …found My Sweet Savannah..

Melanie…a very talented lady…love her approach…including scarfing free items on the side of the road…loved that post!

I became a voyeur of sorts…prowling the neighborhood of design blogs…enthralled, intrigued, delighted but most of all inspired!

The images were wonderful..the stories touched me…some made me giggle, some gave me awe and some made me cry..

Liddy (French Garden House) – your loss of Beau still brings me to tears today…your love for him came through that post.  I was so touched and felt your loss, like many I have experienced the loss of a much-loved dog.

For the Love of a House…

Joan, as it turns out was a neighbor…I enjoyed the renovation project she and Dan took on with so much love…and because of my love for all dogs…Ella and One Dog at a Time rescue stories are among my favorites.  As it turns out Joan had met my brother and nephew during renovations on her lovely home…a very small world in this small town in this small state. If you have the opportunity to visit …you will love it, too! I have yet to meet Joan in person…but can’t wait!  Thank you for your encouragement!

Acquired Objects…

I have just had I pleasure to exchange e-mails with another neighbor, Debra from Acquired Objects…hoping to have the opportunity to meet this very talented lady soon. Still a small world…

I can tell you that BLOGS influenced my decision to work for myself, they have been a HUGE dose of courage.  I took the leap…

After spending months working on a direction to go with inspirations like…

Dreams...

Today…

Bless you all.. For encouragement, inspiration and comments!

Now my dilemma…

No…you won’t be able to change my addiction to blogs BUT…

Help me become a better ‘blogger’…

You see…I am not a writer, nor a photographer…

Do you like blogs where you get a glimpse of the person behind the blog like Velvet and Linen or just beautiful inspiration like Brabourne Farm?

Do you blog for business, marketing or just because you love the connection?  I am loving the new connections!

Help me with blogging tips…please!  Oh… and forget twitter (it’s beyond me)!

Have a great week!

Love-

Laurie

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2011 5:32 pm

    I’m smiling Laurie because I’m in the same boat, I’m not a writer and I’m lucky when I get a clear picture with my camera. I only found blogs last year and like you I was smitten, I spent an entire day just looking and reading blogs! There was a whole other world out there! After a month I wanted to join in and I’m so glad I did because I got the added bonus of new friends. I don’t really know half the time what people truly want to see so I just babble on about things that interest me. I don’t blog for work or for anything other then sharing and friendship and I’ve been rewarded tenfold. Your blog is beautiful and I’m so glad you leaped in there and emailed me. Sorry I wasn’t much help there.

    Debra,

    • January 18, 2011 5:37 pm

      Oh, Debra…Thank you…now I don’t feel so awkward…I have been lucky to meet some like minded people and love it so far…but I guess like all new adventures…require a little navigation! thanks for your comment…it brightened my day!

  2. January 20, 2011 1:22 am

    Hi Laurie – thank you so much for the kind words. I love all the blogs you mentioned and for all the same reasons! For advice, I would say – keep doing what you’re doing, reaching out to people, and post on what you love. The writing and photos will come. I like knowing more about the person behind the blog without needing to know every tiny detail. Keep up the good work!

  3. February 6, 2011 12:08 pm

    Advise from another newbie………..Be real! I looked at a lot of blogs before I started to write my own. I saw immediately what I liked and what I didn’t. I really don’t care for the blogs that scream……BUY ME!!
    I prefer the more subtle approach, which is more conversational.
    BTW……..you’re doing a good job.
    Best……..Kathi

Leave a Reply

