Skip to content

A Lifelong Love Affair…

June 14, 2010

via Country Home Magazine

 

 
Having a passion or attraction to a particular element, color scheme, or style for a long periods of time is rare.   Usually, we gravitate to the “…latest look”, “something different”, “something new and exciting”!!  
Having always…as far back as I can remember … a love affair with blue and white!  Over the years I have collected  ceramics, fabrics, artwork, dishes, glassware and the list goes on and on.  At different times in my life I have mixed these two staples with various textures and complementary colors. 
Having just moved I have found that it is time again to find a new way to incorporate these treasures into my new space.    I find that different periods of my life  have affected the feel of the decor I am looking for.  When I got my first apartment I longed for grown-up, sophisticated, trendy.  When my children were growing up…it was all about creating a lively ‘happy house’.  Now that the nest is empty, I find I am looking for calming, neutral, relaxed.  As a designer, I get to experience different styles and looks  creating decor for my clients .  I love different periods, different trends, and a variety of colors.  But I still have to use my blue and white.  I find that the time of year affects my view of blue and white schemes…combined with bright pastels in spring, bold yellows in summer and orange tones in fall!  The winter makes blue and white combinations a little chilly in the snow -covered northeast…Neutrals and textures warm the combination well.  Since, I am still trying to get acclimated to my new ‘digs’…I am not quite sure how I am going to work in ‘my collections’.  Here are looks that are timeless…let me know how you feel about “THE BLUES”!  Does your stage in life affect how you react to different combinations?  Share your thoughts.   

Ashley Whittaker

 

Indigo Quilt - Marketworks

 

 
When decorating with blue and white schemes, one cannot help but think of Ralph Lauren…   

Ralph Lauren Home

 

 A  master at mixing patterns and textures.

Ralph Lauren Blues

 

Blue Collection 4 LLLD

 

Blue Collection 2 LLLD

 

 
    

Blue Collection 1 LLLD

 

 
   

Owners collection and Pottery Barn

 

Pine Cone Hill, Kelly Wearstler for Sferra, Sferra towels, Carolyn Roehm

 

Summer Blues - rug by Company C

 

 
There are so many companies known  for their use of ‘THE BLUES’ …Here are some of my favorites…Please share yours!   

C & C Milano - favorite fabrics

 

Company C - Rugs

 

Dash & Albert - rugs

 

 
    

EBAY

 

Jason Waskey

 

ESTY

 

ESTY

 

Leatherwood Antiques

 

ESTY

 

ESTY

 

 
 Have a Great Week 
Laurie   

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

