Skip to content

Absurd??

February 12, 2010

Winter Geese
“I told you to go south!”

  

It’s been a crazy week…and a little melancholy …
I’ve put my wee house on the market…
A bit too large, need to down size… 

Kitchen view

 

Sunroom view

 

But it’s almost exactly what I want…
Just a few more touches and it will be perfect…
And then it will be time to start all over again. 

So knowing that design is an evolution…Continuous… 

A new adventure in the wings… 

Maybe Rockport…THE place for me… 

you know that place on earth…You just know your soul belongs. 

 

I found a condo…love it! 

Great location, stone’s throw from the water… 

A quarry in the back, ocean in the front… 

Quarry view

 

Pier view

 

  

Antique house…character… 

Kitchen Fireplace

 

Country Living

 

unknown source

 

unknown source

 

I can see a new kitchen, new bath, soft neutral colors… 

Soothing, relaxing…beach house serene… 

I can see myself living here… 

But … there is always a but… 

The documentation is a mess… 

Not a good idea? 

  

Very disappointing…will keep searching. 

  

Rockport is a magical place… 

It’s a small town, full of the sights and sounds of the sea… 

flowers everywhere. 

I’ve spent time here almost every summer, spring, fall and occasionally winter as long as I can remember… 

The Cottages on Mill Lane is where I stay… 

 

 The cottages are full of charm… 

everything is within walking distance… 

the beach, the park, the pond… 

ah, the galleries and don’t forget the lobster! 

The Cottage on the Lane Living Room

 

The Cottage on the Lane Kitchen

 

The Cottage on the Lane bedroom
view from the bedroom Cottage on the Lane

Cottage on the Pond livingroom

 

Cottage on the Pond yard overlooking Mill Pond

 

View of the Mill Pond

 

Cottage on the Pond porch

 

Cottage on the Pond sunrise from the porch

 

Maybe someday I will live on Mill Lane…..

Dreaming!!!
Have a great week-
Laurie

 

Esty Find Great Frames!

1st Dibs Liza Sherman shovel rack

 

1st dibs Giannetti Home framed vintage suit

 

Dreaming of a beach house….I can feel my toes in the water! 

Congratulations, Brooke! Your Giannetti Home 1st Dibs store is now open… 

Click on photo to be directed to Brooke’s (from Velvet and Linen ) newest adventure! 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2010 4:00 pm

    Thank you Laurie! Steve and I are so excited about our store on 1st Dibs.
    I really appreciate you letting your readers know about it.
    BTW: You picked my favorite bathing suit. Aren’t the colors great?
    Happy Weekend.

    xo
    Brooke

  2. February 12, 2010 4:51 pm

    Absurd? No!!! Mark Twain’s “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So, throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the tradewinds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” has been my mantra for the last several years!
    Yes, I totally know what you mean when you say “that place where your soul belongs”….There is just a pull that you can’t explain, and if a person can, I think they must follow their heart!
    Your home is beautiful! I have a feeling it will sell in no time! And while I’m sad to see you go;) I think Rockport looks AMAZING! It looks like a perfect place to continue your journey!
    The condo you found looks perfect! Don’t let a little documentation mess stop you!!
    joan

  3. February 27, 2010 4:19 pm

    Hi Lauri. Change is stressful…but good. LOVE that quarry view. What is is about water…how it soothes the soul? If I had that view I’d break out my easel and oil paints. Best wishes, Trish

Leave a Reply

